Rockland County Added to FEMA Major Disaster Declaration For Individual and Public Assistance


New City, NY, – County Executive Ed Day and Director of Fire and Emergency Services Chris Kear announce that the Major Disaster Declaration for the State of New York (FEMA-4615-DR-NY) has been amended to include Rockland County for Individual Assistance and for Public Assistance.

“Rockland residents are finally eligible to apply for FEMA Disaster Assistance for damage and losses from the remnants of Hurricane Ida. Thank you to everyone who worked with FEMA and New York State on receiving this designation and especially to our federal officials Congressman Jones, Senator Schumer and Senator Gillibrand for their advocacy,” said County Executive Day.

To be considered for all forms of disaster assistance, applicants should register online at or download the FEMA mobile app. If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free helpline at 800-621-3362. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800-621-3362.

You will need to have the following available:

  • A current phone number where you can be contacted
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying
  • Your Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damages and losses
  • If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agent and company name


“Residents with a homeowner’s or flood insurance policy must file an insurance claim before applying for federal assistance. And while FEMA is unable to duplicate insurance payments residents may be eligible to receive assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from the storm and flooding,” said Director Chris Kear.

Long-term, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also may be available to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance and that do not duplicate benefits from other agencies or organizations.

Earlier this week the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced that small businesses and most private nonprofit organizations in Rockland are now eligible to apply for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans. Information, including eligibility requirements, about these loans is available here:

The SBA also announced the opening of a Business Recovery Center (BRC) at the New York Power Authority building in White Plains to provide one-on-one assistance to businesses and residents in submitting a disaster loan application for the remnants of Hurricane Ida on Sept. 1-3, 2021.

SBA Business Recovery Center

New York Power Authority Building

123 Main Street
White Plains, NY 10601

Hours:             Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. until further notice
Closed:            Saturday and Sunday

author avatar
Joan Will

Related Posts

No results found.
Skip to content